1814 Commemoration Inc.
PO Box 2549
Plattsburgh, NY 12901

Established February 7, 2020

Mission of 1814 Commemoration, Inc.  “To plan and produce a commemorative event which includes many different activities that enhance the awareness and knowledge of the historical significance of the British military invasion of the Champlain Valley in 1814 and the ensuing American naval victory which directly influenced the signing of the Treaty of Ghent and the end of The War of 1812."  


1814 Commemoration Inc., a 501(c) 3 not for profit corporation, was created by a dedicated group of long time Battle of Plattsburgh volunteers. In early December the volunteers were notified by the City of Plattsburgh that the City would no longer be able to present the Battle of Plattsburgh Commemoration.

Not wanting the historic significance of the annual commemoration to be lost, 1814 Commemoration Inc.was formed. The new organization will be able to raise the funds needed for the continuation of the Battle of Plattsburgh Commemoration and other events in the Plattsburgh and surrounding areas.

The nonprofit designation will allow greater latitude in fund raising and sponsorship procurement thereby enhancing the ability of the volunteer group to present the Battle of Plattsburgh Commemoration this year and for many years to come.

About Our Logo

For more than 200 years, the United States has enjoyed close alliances with Canada and the United Kingdom. Often, that reality stands in stark contrast with the historical realities of our bitter fight for independence during the Revolutionary War and our second fight for independence during the War of 1812. Yet, we have long remembered the Battle of Plattsburgh together, cementing our friendship through shared memories. As we pay tribute to the Canadian and British soldiers who lost their lives fighting here during our commemoration ceremonies, we celebrate our ongoing alliance and our mutual past through this joining together of our flags in this logo.

Executive Committee

Tom Donahue – President
Tom is retired after working 30+ years as a Drafting Instructor for the New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision. Involved in the Battle of Plattsburgh as a volunteer since 2014.

Wendy Gilchrist - Vice President
Wendy is retired from UVM Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital and currently has returned to work on a part-time basis. She has been a volunteer for the Battle of Plattsburgh since 2002 working primarily on the Macomb Ball & Shape Note singing

Chris Ransom – Secretary
Chris retired after 33 years as Hospital Librarian at UVM Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital. She has been involved with husband, Stan Ransom in the Battle of Plattsburgh since 2000 providing historic games for children from the 1800s.

Forrest Edwards – Treasurer
Forrest is currently employed at Alexander Edwards & Company CPAs, P.C. accounting firm. He has been on the Board of Directors of 1814 Commemoration Inc. since 2019.

Additional Directors:                                                                       

Rich Frost                                                                 
Vicki Giroux                                                                 
Tim Horn                                                          
Mary Simmers
Linda Masterson Ward
Meghan Weeden
Samantha Williams


Kit Booth
Alice Church
Gary VanCour

Finance Committee 

Chair- Forrest Edwards

Development Committee

Chair- Linda Masterson Ward

Members- Forrest Edwards, Smanatha Williams, Lana Putnam, Tim Horn, Steve McDonald

Advisers- Kit Booth, Gary VanCour

Public Relations Committee

Chair- Lana Putnam

Members- Rich Frost

Media Committee

Chair- Meghan Weeden

Members- Chris Ransom, Vicki Giroux, Casey Degon

B&G (Inventory) Committee

Chair- Chris Ransom

Members- Linda Masterson Ward

BOP Commemoration Committee

All Chairs and Advisors

Website Committee

Tom Donahue, Linda Masterson Ward, Bruce Carlin


Ceremony Coordination

Chair- Mary Simmers

Members- Tim Horn, Judy Lefebvre

History & Education

Chair- Linda Masterson Ward

Members- Rich Frost, Lana Putnam, Mary Simmers


Chair- Diana Kwarta

Members- Richard Daly, Jim Guiness, Tim Horn, Steve McDonald, Anastasia Pratt

BOP Committee Volunteers

Sharon Bell- Kent Delord House

Casey Degan - Social Media

Geri Favreau- CCHA

Jim Guinness- Volunteers

Tim Horn - Volunteers

Diane Kwarta- Volunteers

Judy Lefebvre- Old Post Cemetery

Charles Loscalzo- Champlain Centre Mall

Steve McDonald- Volunteers

Bruce Moore- Trinity Church

PJ Miller- Reenactors/ Advisor

Emily Moosmann- Champlain Centre Mall

PJ Miller- Reenactors/ Advisor

Helen Nerska- CCHA

Vince Puliafico- Historian

Lana Putnam- Public Relations/ Marketing

John Rock- Reenactors/ Advisor

Craig Russell- Reenactors/ Advisor

Madison Spear- Graphic Design